FW: ORGLIST: Le Chimiste

Date view Thread view Subject view Author view Attachment view

From: Keith Taylor (KeithT$##$mdli.com)
Date: Tue Apr 07 1998 - 18:04:37 EDT

I looked at his web page and found it offensive. I think that he should
be removed from the distribution list.

Dr Keith T Taylor, MDL Information Systems Inc
e-mail: keitht$##$mdli.com <mailto:keitht$##$mdli.com>
voice mail: 973 299 3985 ext. 2159
                        800 401 4321 ext. 2159
mobile: 201 787 4863
Corporate URL: http://www.mdli.com <http://www.mdli.com>

-----Original Message-----
From: David R. "Chip" Kent IV [SMTP:drk3548$##$unix.tamu.edu]
Sent: Tuesday, April 07, 1998 4:43 PM
To: keitht$##$blur.uk.mdli.com <mailto:keitht$##$blur.uk.mdli.com>
Subject: Re: ORGLIST: Le Chimiste

I agree.... There were also some references to chemical weapons on the
web page...

On Tue, 7 Apr 1998, Bob Gawley wrote:
> Fellow Chemists
> This person whose e-mail name is totoboom and who posts
questions to the
> list under the name Le Chimiste looks like a certifiable nut.
He has been
> asking disturbing questions of list subscribers for the past
> months. Other subscribers have questioned his expertise. His
latest posting
> contains a web address whose content is distressing: recipes
for explosives
> and drugs, and under his name "Toto, the Crazy Chemist", is a
picture of
> Theodore Kaszinski (spelling?), the alleged "Unabomber" in the
US. (The
> Unabomber is responsible for numerous "letter-bomb" murders
over the
> past 20 years. He is now on trial in Sacramento, California.)
> Toto says he is a student in the chemistry department at the
> Lausanne. If he was in my department, I would be very
disturbed. He is
> giving out advice on drug synthesis and extraction (home
> including MDMA, methamphetamine, 2-CB, etc., and procedures
for making
> detonators and bombs, through a website on Geocities.com.
> I'd be real careful about giving him advice, and if anyone
from Lausanne
> sees this posting, you might want to investigate what he may
be doing in
> his lab.
> I don't know anything about the rules for screening postings
to a
> professional list such as this one, but I don't subscribe to
> help people make bombs or produce illegal drugs. I ask that
this person's
> questions not be posted to this list. Professional chemists
ought not to
> have a legitimate forum associated with quacks such as
> Bob Gawley
> Robert E. Gawley
> Department of Chemistry
> University of Miami
> P. O. Box 249118
> Coral Gables, Florida 33124-0431
> Phone: 305-284-3279
> FAX: 305-668-3313
> rgawley$##$miami.edu <mailto:rgawley$##$miami.edu>
> http://asnetserver.as.miami.edu/rgawley
> __________________
> ORGLIST - Organic Chemistry Mailing List
> WWW Homepage and Archive: http://www.dq.fct.unl.pt/orglist/
> To post a message (TO EVERYBODY) send to orglist$##$dq.fct.unl.pt
> To unsubscribe, send to listserver$##$dq.fct.unl.pt
<mailto:listserver$##$dq.fct.unl.pt> the message:
> unsubscribe orglist
> List coordinator: Joao Aires de Sousa (jas$##$mail.fct.unl.pt
<mailto:jas$##$mail.fct.unl.pt> )


ORGLIST - Organic Chemistry Mailing List
WWW Homepage and Archive: http://www.orglist.net/
List coordinator: Joao Aires de Sousa (jas$##$mail.fct.unl.pt)

Date view Thread view Subject view Author view Attachment view

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.1.4 : Fri Sep 19 2003 - 12:14:42 EDT